Reports

Home Travel Route Reports Gallery Guestbook Contact Links

09.05.2011

From Addis to Zanzibar


Now I’m here – at Mercury’s café in Zanzibar - on a seaside rendezvous with the love of my life.

It feels good to smell the ocean again after a long and dusty trip. Watching the scene in front of me – a football fight between the local kids - I imagine young Freddie playing the game on these beaches many years ago just as the...

read onmore photos

13.04.2011

Ki-li-man-ja-ro


Names of places can put a spell on you even long before (if ever) you visit them. When you hear them for the first time and before you even know where exactly they are to be found on a map they perform some kind of magic in your head and from that moment onwards a somewhat romanticised image will remain attached with the name forever (or until you ...

read onmore photos

05.04.2011

Meeting Simba and friends


Serengeti National Park was maybe one of the most anticipated travel destinations on our trip as a place that evokes all kind of adventurous associations: wildbeests crossing Grumeti River captured by famous National Geographic photographers, or lionesses hunting gazelles as seen in documentaries on rainy November afternoons, or the cliché v...

read onmore photos

26.03.2011

Rwenzori


4.45 am at 4552 metres above sea level, Elena hut. According to circumstances we had a relatively warm night. The silhouette of a thick down jacket appears in the door. Our cook has prepared porridge – on time – for the first time. A good omen? Our bags are packed and we are only a steamy bowl of oats away from setting off to climb Margherita Peak,...

read onmore photos

19.03.2011

Prim(at)e time


When I was a kid and we went to the zoo I always loved to watch the monkeys. Of course, I would never have admitted that I preferred the monkeys over other animals because that would have been like admitting one favours Messi (or here in Africa rather Drogba or Eto’o) – it would have been just too commonplace a choice. But still, I liked to watch t...

read onmore photos

12.03.2011

The taste of the Nile


One and a half centuries ago John Speke stood on a hill near Lake Victoria and watched the water tumbling down some rapids which he was to name the Rippon Falls. It was the long sought source of the White Nile. The falls have long gone – submersed by the Owen dam project – and although there is not much to see now the place retains a magical attrac...

read onmore photos

05.03.2011

Time to change your dressing style


Beauty is a curious phenomenon. Admittedly, there are shared criteria as youth, soft skin or symmetry that are preferred by most human kinds. But when it comes to clothes, accessories and hair style one wonders about the variety of taste, fashion and cultural differences. If you have visited the North of Ethiopia (or any third world country really)...

read onmore photos

28.02.2011

Cultural exchange rate


Having only eight days left before a plane would take us to Uganda and our heads still full of ideas of what to see and do in the South during the last days of our Ethiopia trip we opt once more to rent our own means of transport for a full week. The well maintained landcruiser came with the friendly driver Masfen who had recently changed his busin...

read onmore photos

21.02.2011

Do not drink and fish


I happily raised the camera when I saw the big, fat crocodiles dotting the shoreline of Lake Chamo and bravely asked our captain if maybe we could go even a bit closer for a better shot. The captain nodded and shortly afterwards I realised that this beach full of crocodiles was as a matter of fact our targeted landing place. Now, I got a little ner...

read onmore photos

09.02.2011

Unhappy with your job?


Are you unhappy with your job? Feeling a bit stressed out lately? Then the following position as a salt breaker at the Lake Assal salt mine might be an interesting opportunity for you.

For this challenging job you need good stamina and advanced knowledge of Neolithic tools. Afar language skills would be an asset. Wages paid are proba...

read onmore photos

04.02.2011

The hottest place on earth


In the friendly town of Mekele we drank two latte macchiato while balancing our possibilities to spend 20’000 Birr (1’200 dollars). Either we could order another 5’000 macchiatos or invest in a three day trip to the Danakil depression instead. As I am trying to reduce my coffee consumption (see first blog) we opted for the second option.

read onmore photos

28.01.2011

Kings and priests


Have you ever been wondering where the original Ark of the Covenant could be today? Somehow this rather important question has never surfaced in my ten official years of Christian education – or otherwise I have forgotten it. Well, it is here in Aksum, Ethiopia. And this is why this entry starts in Aksum – eventhough this is not in correspondence w...

read onmore photos

13.01.2011

Abyssinian abysses


Have you ever heard about the Simien Mountains? If not, imagine something like the Grand Canyon without viewing platforms and fewer tourists. This is where we spent this year’s Christmas – walking along sheer cliffs and peeking down Abyssinian abysses.

Our scout doesn’t speak a word of English, but he knows the way. Even trying to in...

read onmore photos

08.01.2011

At the source of the Nile


It’s strange indeed. One stiff night in an overcrowded airplane (see our last blog) and a hassle free 10-hour bus ride on one of Ethiopia’s better roads have brought us here to Bahir Dar. Now, I am sitting in this cosy garden of the Ghion Hotel watching hornbills philandering while Nico is trying to wrap our plan- and responsibility-free 4 months i...

read onmore photos

20.12.2010

Arriving in Addis


I don’t know if there are any hand luggage regulations in place at Ethiopian Airlines but if there are they are certainly not enforced very enthusiastically. Every passenger (except us) seemed to have brought about as many trolleys, backpacks and bags as they could possibly carry or drag along and it seemed impossible to fit everything in the overh...

read onmore photos

30.11.2010

The view from the window


Not long ago I bought a new camera as I wanted to be ready to take great pictures of elephants roaming the African steppe if indeed one day I would make it to the black continent. One of the first pictures I took was a test shot out of my apartment window. The scene - not very spectacular - consisted only of rooftops covered with snow on the other ...

read on



© Lovelyplanet 2010

Berichte

Home Reiseroute Berichte Galerie Gästebuch Kontakt Links

09.05.2011

From Addis to Zanzibar


Now I’m here – at Mercury’s café in Zanzibar - on a seaside rendezvous with the love of my life.

It feels good to smell the ocean again after a long and dusty trip. Watching the scene in front of me – a football fight between the local kids - I imagine young Freddie playing the game on these beaches many years ago just as the...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

13.04.2011

Ki-li-man-dscha-ro


Allein der Name eines Ortes kann einen verzaubern, schon lange bevor (wenn überhaupt) man den Ort besucht. Sobald man ihn zum ersten Mal hört, bevor man überhaupt weiss, wo genau auf der Landkarte er eingezeichnet ist, löst er irgendetwas in deinem Kopf aus und von dem Moment an verbindet man mit dem Namen ein romantisiertes Bil...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

05.04.2011

Treffen mit Simba und seinen Freunden


Der Serengeti Nationalpark war eines unserer Reiseziele, auf welche wir uns vielleicht am meisten gefreut haben – ein Ort, der alle möglichen abenteuerlichen Assoziationen weckt: Weissbartgnus, die den Grumeti Fluss überqueren, so wie auf den Bildern von berühmten Geo-Fotografen oder Löwinnen beim Jagen, wie man es aus Dokumenta...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

26.03.2011

Rwenzori


4.45 Uhr morgens auf 4552 Metern über Meer, Elena Hütte. Unter diesen Umständen hatten wir eine relativ warme Nacht. Die Silhouette einer dicken Daunenjacke erscheint in der Türe. Unser Koch bringt uns Haferbrei – zur abgemachten Zeit – zum ersten Mal zur abgemachten Zeit. Ein gutes Omen? Unsere Rucksäcke sind gepackt und w...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

19.03.2011

Affentheater


Prolog
Früher, als ich Kind war und wir in den Zoo gingen, habe ich mich immer am meisten darauf gefreut den Affen am Affenfelsen zuzuschauen. Natürlich hätte ich nie zugegeben, dass ich Affen lieber mochte als andere Tiere. Dies wäre etwa, wie wenn man heute Messi-Fan ist (oder hier in Afrika Drogba- oder Eto’o-Fan) – sc...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

12.03.2011

Zwei Mund voll Nil


John Speke stand auf einem Hügel über dem Victoria See und schaute dem Wasser zu, wie es in rasantem Tempo über mehrere Stufen hinab stürzte und in Richtung Westen davon floss. Er gab den Stromschnellen den Namen Rippon Fälle – endlich, nach Jahrzehnte langer Suche, war die Quelle des weissen Nils gefunden. Die Fälle s...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

05.03.2011

Zeit fuer einen neuen Kleidungsstil


Schönheit ist ein seltsames Phänomen. Zugegeben, es gibt ein paar Eigenschaften, die von den meisten Menschen bevorzugt werden, wie jugendliches Aussehen, glatte Haut oder Symmetrie. Aber wenn es um Kleidung, Accessoires oder Frisuren geht, dann wundert man sich manchmal schon über die Verschiedenartigkeit von Geschmack und Mode und ...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

28.02.2011

Voelker Kunde


Mit nur noch 8 Tagen, bis uns ein Flugzeug nach Uganda bringen würde, und dem Kopf immer noch voller Ideen, was wir im Süden von Äthiopien noch alles sehen und tun wollten, beschlossen wir einmal mehr, uns für eine Woche ein Fahrzeug zu mieten. Zum gut gewarteten Landcruiser gehörte der nette Fahrer Masfen, der erst kü...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

21.02.2011

Wer trinkt fischt nicht


Ich zückte erfreut die Kamera, als ich die grossen, fetten Krokodile am Ufer des Chamo Sees sah und fragte mutig unseren Bootsführer, ob wir nicht noch ein bisschen näher rangehen könnten, um ein besseres Bild zu machen. Dieser nickte nur und kurz darauf wurde mir klar, dass der Strand mit den Krokodilen unsere angepeilte Anlege...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

09.02.2011

Eine interessante Herausforderung


Bist du unzufriedene mit deinem Job? Fühlst du dich ein wenig überarbeitet in letzter Zeit? Dann könnte dich die folgende Stelle als Salzbrecher in der Salzmine des Assal Sees interessieren.

Für diese anspruchsvolle Aufgabe werden eine gute körperliche Verfassung und Erfahrung mit neolithischen Arbeitsger&aum...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

04.02.2011

Heisser geht es nicht


In der freundlichen Stadt Mekele tranken wir zwei Latte Macchiato und überdachten unsere Möglichkeiten 20‘000 Birr (1‘200 Dollars) loszuwerden. Wir konnten entweder 5‘000 weitere Latte Macchiato bestellen oder aber die Summe in eine 3-Tages-Tour in die Danakil Depression investieren. Da ich ja bekanntlich meinen Kaffeekonsum einschrä...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

28.01.2011

Koenige und Priester


Habt Ihr Euch je Gedanken darüber gemacht, wo die heilige Bundeslade heute sein könnte? Irgendwie ist diese Frage in meiner rund zehnjährigen christlichen Erziehung nie wirklich aufgetaucht – oder dann habe ich sie wieder vergessen. Nun, sie ist hier in Aksum, Äthiopien. Deshalb beginnt auch dieser Blogeintrag in Aksum, obwohl d...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

13.01.2011

Abessinische Abgruende


Habt ihr schon mal von den Simien Mountains gehört? Falls nicht, stellt euch so etwas wie den Grand Canyon ohne Aussichtsplattformen und mit weniger Touristen vor. An diesem Ort haben wir dieses Jahr Weihnachten gefeiert – steilen Klippen entlang wandernd und hie und da einen Blick hinunter in endlose abessinischen Abgründe wagend.
...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

04.01.2011

Am Ursprung des Nils


Es ist schon seltsam. Eine steife Nacht im überfüllten Flugzeug (mehr dazu im letzten Blogeintrag) und eine 10-stündige problemlose Busfahrt über eine der besseren Strassen Äthiopiens haben uns nach Bahir Dar geführt. Jetzt sitze ich hier im lauschigen Garten des Ghion Hotels und schaue den Hornschnäbeln beim Flir...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

22.12.2010

Ankunft in Addis


Es ist mir nicht bekannt, ob es bei Ethiopian Airlines irgendwelche Vorschriften betreffend Handgepäck gibt. Aber falls dies der Fall sein sollte, so werden diese definitiv nicht sehr enthusiastisch umgesetzt. Jeder Passagier (uns ausgenommen) scheint so viele Trollies, Rucksäcke und Taschen mitgebracht zu haben, wie er nur schleppen oder...

weiterlesenmehr Fotos

27.11.2010

Reisevorbereitung


Versicherungen überprüfen, Pflanzen jemandem Vertrauenswürdiges abgeben, Post umleiten, Visa beantragen, Traveller Cheques besorgen, Wohnung untervermieten, Faserpelz ersetzen ...

Ihr kennt all die guten Reisevorbereitungslisten, die man heute nicht mehr aus dem vergilbten Ordner nimmt, wie dies meine Mutter bei unsere...

weiterlesen



© Lovelyplanet 2010